Friends and Family

One thing that I really wanted to do when creating this blog was finding delicious meals to make for the family that we enjoyed and that we would either make again or laugh at how bad the meal was. Luckily, there hasn’t been too many of failed meals and unfortunately there hasn’t been many blog entries. The most important part, though, is that we have been successful in, which is having weekly family dinners and inviting friends over to share in the recipe roulette. I may not write about it as much as I had hoped, but at least the important part has been accomplished.

Parmesan Cilantro Corn

This recipe was the perfect side dish to a pork tenderloin (I always migrate to a pork tenderloin for a group – so easy). We had friends and family over and it was a hit. Easy yummy side dish to serve hot. Only problem is making it 15 minutes before everyone is seated for dinner, which can be pretty hectic.

  • 3 Tbsp butter
  • 4 cups fresh corn kernels (approx 6 large ears) (I used 4 cups of frozen corn)
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 Tbsp lime juice
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • ¼ tsp cayenne pepper
  • ⅓ cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • ⅓ cup heavy cream
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp black pepper
  • ½ cup chopped cilantro

I also used frozen corn and it turned out great. I used low fat heavy cream, so that is an option. The blog site that I got this from did a really good job at laying out the directions and also has a printable version. Recipe can be found here.

End product of Parmesan Cilantro Corn. Very yum.

End product of Parmesan Cilantro Corn. Very yum.

I didn’t take that many pictures of this dish. We were too busy corralling little boys. Besides, a good friend of mine who reads the blog (thanks PAJ!) suggested that I post more pictures of people eating the foods instead of still shots of food. I couldn’t agree more. Here are some pictures of family and friends enjoying our time together – the most important part!

DSC_0319 DSC_0320 DSC_0317 DSC_0313 DSC_0305 DSC_0299 DSC_0298 DSC_0270 IMG_1253

We still have many more recipes to make (Thanks Pinterest!) and still need to invite many more friends over. Can’t wait!

Leave a comment